Saturday, June 15, 2024

congress: Congress in Assam likely to go alone to contest elections

Must Read

With five assembly seats going to by-polls on October 30 in Assam, opposition congress is likely to go alone to contest these seats, BJP will contest four seats and will leave one seat for its ally United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL).

After being elected to Rajya Sabha uncontested, former Assam chief minister and union minister, Sarbananda Sonowal resigned from Majuli assembly seat on Tuesday. Sonowal for the second time was elected from this seat in assembly polls held in March-April this year.

By-polls to Gossaigaon, Tamulpur, Bhapanipur, Mariani and Thowra will be held on October 30. However, Majuli is not in the list as Sonowal resigned from the Majuli seat on Tuesday and he got a certificate of election to Rajya Sabha on Monday.

Phanidhar Talukdar All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) MLA from Bhabanipur seat had resigned from the assembly and joined BJP.

Soon after the polls Congress MLA from Mariani, Rupjyoti Kurmi resigned from the party and joined BJP, Congress leader Sushanta Borgohain in Assam joined BJP. Thowra MLA Borgohain resigned from the assembly.

Tamulpur constituency MLA, Leho Ram Boro of the United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL) died of COVID-19.

Gossaigaon MLA Majendra Narzary of the Bodoland People’s Front (BPF) died following post-Covid complications.

A senior BJP leader who does not want to be named told ET, “We will contest four seats and leave the Tamulpur constituency for UPPL.”

Bhabesh Kalita, BJP’s Assam unit president recently said BJP will win all the seats which will go to by polls.

Congress is likely to contest all the seats. Earlier Congress had left the Bhabanipur seat to All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) and Gossaigaon seat was contested by Congress ally, BPF. However post-election BPF has distanced itself from the Congress party led 10 party coalition (Grand alliance). Recently Assam Pradesh Congress Committee (APCC) has decided to snap ties with AIUDF.

In the 126-member assembly BJP won 60 seats which is similar to the number it won five years ago. The Asom Gana Parishad won nine seats against 14 seats last time, while the new alliance partner, UPPL, got six seats.

Congress in this year’s assembly polls won 29 seats, AIUDF won 14 seats. BPF won four seats and CPI(M) wrested one.

- Advertisement -spot_img
- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest News

- Advertisement -spot_img

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -spot_img