Wednesday, February 1, 2023
Arabic Arabic Bengali Bengali English English French French Hindi Hindi Indonesian Indonesian Malay Malay Punjabi Punjabi Russian Russian Spanish Spanish Turkish Turkish Urdu Urdu

Who won the NASCAR race yesterday? Complete results Sunday race at Indianapolis

Must Read

Assemblywoman Michelle Solages Leads Efforts to Recognize Holidays Celebrated by Hindus, Sikhs, Janis, Buddhists, and Muslims in NYS

Assemblywoman Michelle Solages of Assembly District 22 has sponsored bill A02339 to establish Diwali, Bandi Chhor Divas, Tihar, Onam...

“The youth are crazy about hockey” | Q+A with Hockey India president Dilip Tirkey

In an exclusive interview to India Today in Rourkela, Dilip Tirkey, president, Hockey India, former captain of the...

‘Eken Babu’ creator Sujan Dasgupta died of heart attack, says primary post mortem report | Bengali Movie News

Writer Sujan Dasgupta, best known for creating the popular Bengali fictional detective character 'Eken Babu', was found dead...

The winner of Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Series race picked up the pieces after multiple cars were torn to bits by the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course.

AJ Allmendinger benefited from two violent wrecks and a spinout in the closing laps to win the Verizon 200 at The Brickyard on Sunday. Almendinger took the lead in double overtime from Denny Hamlin after Hamlin was pushed out of the top spot by Chase Briscoe, who moments earlier was penalized by NASCAR for cutting through the grass after sliding off the course.

The first Cup race on Indy’s road course turned into a wreckfest, with the curbing in Turns 5 and 6 the main culprit. Cars had difficulty navigating it and both late pileups started there. Allmendinger weaved through the wreckage both times and kept his car clean for the finish.

Below is more about Allmendinger’s win Sunday, plus the complete results of the race.

MORE: Watch NASCAR racing live with fuboTV (7-day free trial)

Who won the NASCAR race yesterday?

NASCAR veteran AJ Allmendinger captured the Verizon 200 at The Brickyard. The 39-year-old driver won for the second time in 375 Cup starts; his first victory came in 2014 at Watkins Glen. Allmendinger was a full-time Cup driver as recently as 2018 but is now an Xfinity Series regular. Sunday was his fourth Cup start of 2021, all for Kaulig Racing and all on road courses.

Allmendinger qualified eighth for the race but was mid-pack when the first wreck occurred on Lap 78 of the scheduled 82-lap race.

His position improved with the atttrition, and he moved up more spots after the second pileup, which took place in the first OT and again in the 5/6 area.

“Once that chaos started happening, we started getting closer to the front,” Allmendinger said in his postrace press conference. “I had a really good restart on the first one. I think we were restarting 17th with eight to go and was able to get to seventh through all that mess and thought, ‘All right, now we’re at least in shouting distance of it.’ Knew a couple of the cars had older tires.

“That second restart, got to third and it’s like, ‘OK, now we’ve got a shot at this.'” 

Allmendinger had a clear path to victory after Briscoe spun Hamlin out of the lead. Briscoe said he didn’t know he had already been penalized when he punted Hamlin off the course. Briscoe thought he was still racing for his first career win. Hamlin was racing for his first win of the season.

MORE: Briscoe costs Hamlin first win of ’21

NASCAR results from Indianapolis

AJ Allmendinger drove to victory in the Verizon 200 at The Brickyard, the first NASCAR Cup Series race on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course. Ryan Blaney survived the wrecks for a second-place finish. Kyle Larson, Chase Elliott and Matt DiBenedetto rounded out the top five. 

The result had a big effect on the NASCAR Cup playoff race. Allmendinger isn’t eligible for the playoffs because he runs full time in the Xfinity Series, so the number of winning Cup drivers this year remains at 13. That means the series will have a maximum of 15 Cup drivers with at least one win. In turn, that means Hamlin clinched a playoff berth Sunday. He can make the playoffs on points alone; he has a 198-point lead on the next-closest bubble driver, Kevin Harvick. Hamlin has now made NASCAR’s playoffs 15 times.

Previous race winners Michael McDowell and Aric Almirola also clinched playoff berths Sunday with Allmendinger winning.

Hamlin is still competing for the Cup Series regular-season point championship, which also yields a playoff berth. He fell out of a tie with Kyle Larson with his 23rd-place finish Sunday. Larson leads Hamlin by 22 points with two regular-season races remaining.

The last two playoff berths will be sorted out in those two races. Harvick and Tyler Reddick hold the spots heading into the Aug. 22 race at Michigan International Speedway (3 p.m. ET; NBCSN, TSN, MRN). The regular-season finale is Aug. 28 at Daytona International Speedway.

Finish Driver
1 AJ Allmendinger
2 Ryan Blaney
3 Kyle Larson
4 Chase Elliott
5 Matt DiBenedetto
6 Kurt Busch
7 Erik Jones
8 Justin Haley
9 Austin Cindric
10 Ryan Newman
11 Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
12 Chris Buescher
13 Bubba Wallace
14 Kevin Harvick
15 Martin Truex Jr.
16 Corey LaJoie
17 Alex Bowman
18 Josh Bilicki
19 Aric Almirola
20 Kyle Busch
21 Tyler Reddick
22 Quin Houff
23 Denny Hamlin
24 Brad Keselowski
25 Cole Custer
26 Chase Briscoe
27 Timmy Hill
28 Garrett Smithley
29 Ross Chastain
30 Michael McDowell
31 Austin Dillon
32 James Davison
33 William Byron
34 Joey Logano
35 Ryan Preece
36 Christopher Bell
37 Daniel Suarez
38 Anthony Alfredo
39 Andy Lally
40 Cody Ware

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest News

Assemblywoman Michelle Solages Leads Efforts to Recognize Holidays Celebrated by Hindus, Sikhs, Janis, Buddhists, and Muslims in NYS

Assemblywoman Michelle Solages of Assembly District 22 has sponsored bill A02339 to establish Diwali, Bandi Chhor Divas, Tihar, Onam...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -